Cooper bestowed 2013 Paralympic Scientific Award

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced that HERL Director Dr. Rory Cooper will be the recipient of the 2013 Paralympic Scientific Award on May 4 in Bonn, Germany, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Paralympic movement.

Dr. Cooper joins a very select list of recipients, as this high honor has been awarded every other year only since 2005. He is the first former Paralympics medalist and American scientist to receive this award. 

Cooper commented: "The Paralympics have been an important aspect of my life for over 30 years. Receiving this award parallels my participation in the 1988 Paralympic Games. I credit my involvement with the Paralympic Movement as a significant contributor to making my life and professional career as rewarding as it has been."

For more information, read the official IPC press release and the UPMC press release.