Cooper Announced as AAAS Fellow

Congratulations to HERL Director Dr. Rory Cooper, who has been awarded the title of Fellow in the category of Engineering by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of his contributions to science and technology, scientific leadership, and extraordinary achievements across disciplines.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows dates to 1874 and comprises an illustrious group of scientists. Among them are astronomer Maria Mitchell, who discovered a comet that now carries her name and was elected Fellow in 1875; inventor Thomas Edison, whose creations included the incandescent light bulb and was elected Fellow in 1878; anthropologist Margaret Mead whose field research on culture and personality attracted much acclaim and was elected Fellow in 1934, and American biologist James Watson who, along with others, helped discover the structure of DNA and was elected Fellow in 1965.

For more information on this prestigious award, see the AAAS press release.